Background

The Nicky Winmar Carnival is an annual round robin tournament targeting Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander male youth aged 13 to 15. The tournament features teams representing both metropolitan and regional WA.

The Nicky Winmar Carnival was originally created to provide disengaged and at risk Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander male youth with another platform to reconnect with the WA Football pathway. The inaugural Nicky Winmar Carnival was played in 2007 and consisted of five teams representing North and South metropolitan Perth and three regional sides. The overall goal of the Nicky Winmar Carnival is to increase the amount of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander youth and community members participating in clubs and development squads as either players, coaches, umpires, administrators or volunteers.

The carnival provides members of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community with a direct opportunity to:

- Participate in a structured WA football marquee event.

- Achieve coaching and umpiring accreditation.

- Re-engage with educational and sport participation programs.

- Connect with AFL/WAFL mentors and role models.

- Potentially be identified for WAFL development pathways.

- Nicky Winmar Cup will form some of the selection process to identify boys to participate in the newly formatted Male Kickstart Program (Diversity Championships).

 

Visit the Male Kickstart Championships for more information.

Event Details

UWA Sports Park, Mt Claremont


Sunday 10th October, 2021


No Smoking No Alcohol No Drugs No Violence


To be eligible to play in the carnival you must be born 2006, 2007, or 2008*

 

Click here to register your interest: https://www.nwcarnival.com.au/#contact-us

 

Team Details

 

Team

Description

Contact

Claremont

Representing Claremont metropolitan zone.

Sam Rotham - srotham@wafc.com.au - 0424 240 012

East Fremantle

Representing East Fremantle zone in the South East metropolitan region of Perth.

Dylan Goodall - dgoodall@wafc.com.au - 0474 213 766

East Perth ‘Yaakiny Royals’

Representing East Perth metropolitan zone. Hayden Cobley - hcobley@wafc.com.au  - 0439 255 027
Peel

Representing Peel District.

Jesse Tippet - Jtippet@wafc.com.au - 0434 518 280

Perth

Representing Perth District metropolitan zone. 

Gabby Simmonds - gsimmonds@wafc.com.au - 0435 806 657
South Fremantle

Representing South Fremantle metropolitan zone.

Pierce Dawson - pdawson@wafc.com.au - 0414 680 463
Subiaco

Representing Subiaco metropolitan zone.

Brodie Riach - briach@wafc.com.au - 0459 284 763
Swan Districts

Representing Swans metropolitan zone including Midland and Bassendean.

Georgia Saylor - gsaylor@wafc.com.au - 0455 340 900
West Perth 'Djinda Falcons'

Representing West Perth metropolitan zone. 

Kathy Monck - kmonck@wafc.com.au - 0428 113 768

Sharon Wood- Kenney - sharonkenneyconsultant@gmail.com - 0400 203 660

Nicky Winmar Career

The brilliant South Fremantle, St. Kilda and Western Bulldogs player bewildered opponents and exhilarated the football public for more than 15 years. His silky skills covered the full range of football. He possessed a breathtaking mark, glorious kick and magical ball handling.

  • Number: 7
  • Height: 183cm
  • Weight: 81kg
  • Born: Pingelly, WA
  • DOB: 25-09-1965
  • Debut: 1987
  • 317 Games
  • South Fremantle: 1983-86, 58
  • St Kilda: 1987-98, 230
  • Western Bulldogs: 1999, 21
  • WA: 8
  • 425 Goals
  • South Fremantle: 98
  • St Kilda: 283
  • Western Bulldogs: 34
  • WA
  • All Australian 1991 & 1995
  • St.Kilda Best & Fairest 1989 & 1995
  • St.Kilda Leading Goal Kicker 1988
  • 1st Indigenous player to play 200 VFL/AFL Games

Player Profile © The Encylopedia of AFL Footballers by Russell Holmesby

Contact Us